February 2, 2016

Where We Are Going, Where We Have Been
MINT 3rd Annual National Juried Art Exhibition
Juried by Micah Stansell & Whitney Stansell
In collaboration with Candice Greathouse, MINT Gallery & Creative Director
ON VIEW: February 20th – March 20th, 2016

OPENING: February 20th, 7-10pm (6-7pm Press & Media Preview)
Atlanta, Georgia – MINT announces the selected artists included in their 3rd Annual National Juried Exhibition. Co-juried by Atlanta artists Micah and Whitney Stansell, Where We Are Going, Where We Have Been seeks to showcase the work of some of the most dynamic and innovative emerging cultural producers currently working in the United States. Out of over 250
emerging artists from all over the U.S. who submitted works (via our call for entry on CAFE), a total of 36 artists were chosen for the exhibition -from California, Georgia, Florida, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Washington.
From the jurors “ We were overwhelmed with excitement from the response to the call for artists. We greatly enjoyed reading every artist statement and looking at each work, many times over. Making our final selections was extremely difficult.”
One artist will also be selected for a solo exhibition to take place at MINT in 2017. Our jurors will also make this selection, and the announcement will take place at the opening reception
on February 20th.
JUROR STATEMENT – The exhibition presents artists whose work conceptualizes a sense of beginning, origin, and family narratives. Responding to a specific place or time, these artists are informed by environment, history, and location. Through introspection and exploration,
this exhibition captures ways of seeing and experiencing space, time, and the natural world.
Featuring artworks from:
Lauren Adams, Amber Eve Anderson, Meg Aubrey, Tyler Beard, Casey Brown, Kristen Doetzkies, Carly Drew, Mary Dunn, Mary Forst, Josephine Figueroa, Julie Gautier-Downes, Kira Hegeman, Karen Hillier, Desiré Hough, Linda Jurkiewicz, Ashley Kauschinger, Wihro Kim, Ben Lee, Skye Livingston, Shona Macdonald, Lorenz Mager, Heather M. O’Brien, Dami Onifade, Victor Perez, Iman Person, Olivia Rado, Mark Reamy, Kimberly Riner, Ivan Riascos, Carlos Richard, Whitney Sage, Sara Santamaría, Charles Andrew Seaton, Michael Shaffer, Tanya Sue Todd, and Ian Welch.
MINT is a 501(c)3 non-profit, volunteer run arts organization dedicated to cultivating astronger arts community in Atlanta and throughout Georgia. We engage emerging artists,patrons, and creative professionals by providing studio and exhibition space, curatorialopportunities, workshops and classes, conferences, and other resources. MINT believes thatthrough these programs we foster a generous spirit, strengthen the regional economy, andenrich the creative community.